Digital Media Advisory Committee – Spring 2013 Meeting

Meeting held Sept. 23, 2013 at Access Humboldt Community Media Center 4:00-5:30pm.

Meeting attendance

Clyde Johnson, Sean McLaughlin, Lilach Assayag, Mary Cruse, Errin Odell, Jana Cox, Karen Majoribanks, Eileen McGee, Joshua Nelson, Montel Vanderhorck, Garrett Perks, and Phillip Middlemiss. Attending member affiliations include CR, Arcata High, Fortuna High, Eureka High, HSU, media industry professionals and past students.

Meeting Notes

The vision of the committee at this time is to support development of a beyond-the-classroom production facility along with opportunities for media students from CR, HSU, area High Schools, along with special programs such as MARs. We would like to use various resources: CR DM students and labs along with Access Humboldt labs, studios, and equipment to get started on this project. The committee agrees on the importance for students to have beyond-school opportunities for media production, teamwork, and portfolio development.

The committee would like to support opportunities for a production team or production group to cover a full range of media: audio, video, animation, graphic design for print and web, website development, games and other interactive media.

Our vision for this student-run production team is for the team to develop high-quality work for local non-profits and other social and community needs. While the student production team will have connections to local media businesses and potential employers, we recognize the importance for the student team to not be in competition with local businesses for media jobs.

The DM Advisory Committee is an ideal group for supporting and possibly organizing these opportunities and facilities. We include faculty from area high schools and colleges, plus we have local business owners and media professionals. Our committee is a strong representation of Humboldt county media education and local media industries.

Mary Cruse	WildRivers 101 Film Festival	merrycruiser@gmail.com
Peter Kruger	Precision Intermedia	peter@precisionintermedia.com
Clyde Johnson	College of the Redwoods	clyde-johnson@redwoods.edu
Sean McLaughlin	Access Humboldt	sean@accesshumboldt.net
Philip Middlemiss	Eureka High School	middlemissp@eurekacityschools.org
Errin Odell	Eel River Digital Arts and Technology Academy/FHS	errinodell@yahoo.com
Prudence Ratliff	College of the Redwoods	pru-ratliff@redwoods.edu
Montel Vanderhorck	independent video producer / College of the Redwoods	montel-vanderhorck@redwoods.edu
Jana Cox	Arcata High School	Jcox@humboldt.k12.ca.us
Ricardo Febre	Humboldt State University	Ricardo.Febre@humboldt.edu
Jason McNutt	Digital Media student	jmcnutt088@mycr.redwoods.edu
Karen Majoribanks	retired animator	kmarjoribanks@att.net
Eileen McGee	HROP/Eureka High School	eem11@humboldt.edu
Jason Sidell	HROP/Eureka High School/College of the Redwoods	jason-sidell@redwoods.edu
Joshua Nelson	Graphic Designer with Envision	joshnel@sbcglobal.net
Juan Carillo	Access Humboldt	juan@accesshumboldt.net
Lilach Assayag	Access Humboldt	lilach@accesshumbolbt.net
Garrett Perks	Envision	garrett@evenvision.com